Elder Nominations for the Class of 2021

At this time each year, members of Roswell Presbyterian Church have the unique opportunity, as well as the responsibility, to be a part of the process of choosing new elders. Elders are the lay leaders of the congregation who govern and guide the spiritual life and mission of this church. 

The Session has called a Congregational Meeting immediately following the 11:15 a.m. worship service on Sunday, April 8 for the purpose of electing elders to the Class of 2021 and one vacant position in the Class of 2020.

The nominees for the incoming 15-member elder Class of 2021, which includes one (1) youth elder, are: Ashley Alderman, John Chattin, Kris Cooper, Morgan Doyle, George Dunaway, Emily Flury, Michael Forrester, Jim Gruber, Jean Dancy Jones, Sarah Kish (youth elder - Class of 2019), Tonya Miller, Brent Rea, Sally Rhoden, Rich Vogel, and Lisa Watkins. The nominee for the vacant spot in the Class of 2020: Carmen Newsom

These 15 will join together with elders in the Class of 2019 and Class of 2020 to make-up our Session.

The names of the Current Session are listed below.

If you have any questions, contact Rev. Lyndsay Lee Slocum, 770-649-4519, or Nancy Hyatt, Nominating Committee Chair.

What is an elder?
An elder is a member of this church who is tasked with strengthening and nurturing the faith and life of the people of this congregation.

What are the qualifications of an elder?
We believe that the only thing that qualifies anyone is the grace of Jesus Christ. However, we also believe that elders are leaders of the church and therefore are held to a higher standard. Our hope is that these men and women would most importantly live as disciples of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, both in word and works.

Session Members

  Rev. Jeff Meyers , Moderator

Rev. Jeff Meyers, Moderator

 Doug Coe, Clerk of Session

Doug Coe,
Clerk of Session

Rev. Jeff Meyers, Moderator
Doug Coe, Clerk of Session
Jack McGinnis, Treasurer

Class of 2018
Sharon Berner
Debbie Cagle
Barbara Denkman
Val Duke
Josh Earhart
Michael Howell
Henry Johnson, Youth Elder
Ellen Lucciola
Nancy Lupinski
Christy Merritt
John Painter
Richard Peebles
Mark Roberson
Ted Seaman
Joey Spain

Class of 2019
Linda Carlyle
Patty Cloy
Dolores Duvall
Bill Fleming
Julie Hellman
Teri Kish
Beth Lane
Allie McCubrey
Allen Robertson
Ed Searcy
Craig Sears
Helen Sharp
Robin Singleton
Alan Van Dyke

Class of 2020
John Carruth
Michele Foust
Peter Heslin
Trey Huffman
Becky Keenum
Chrissy Kennedy
Jeff Luce
Jack McCoy
Kenny Miley
Frank Petru
Laura Phelan
Connie Seidel
Judy Smith